Founded in 1209, the University of Cambridge one of the oldest surviving universities in the English-speaking world. Cambridge is a collegiate university, meaning that it is made up of self-governing and independent colleges, each with its own property and income.

The University houses 31 colleges and 150 departments, Faculties, Schools and other institutions, offering degree courses (also called Triposes at Cambridge) in the arts, social sciences, sciences, engineering and medical sciences. The students account for about a fifth of Cambridge’s population, making Cambridge a most desired place to study and live in.

University Of Cambridge’s reputation for outstanding academic achievement is known world-wide, often showcasing the intellectual achievement of its students. The University is a member of the Russell Group, a network of research-led British universities; the League of European Research Universities; and the International Alliance of Research Universities. It is also considered part of the "Golden Triangle", a geographical concentration of UK university research. Cambridge has also a research partnership with Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the United States: the Cambridge–MIT Institute.